Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The topic mentioned is highly debatable because there are two types of parents who are flexible and allow the child to get exposed to new stuff and the other kind who are orthodox and strict about such things. In my view, I disagree with the given statement and in fact television advertising directed towards age 2 to 5 can be allowed. I would like to discuss the reasons in the following paragraphs of this essay.

First of all, children who are aged between 2 and 5 can learn new things when a certain advertisement is directed to them. There is no harm in the advertisements as it is itself a targeted ad and we can safely assume that the advertisement content is apt. Children can learn new things because if we look into a personal example of mine – I used to watch ads and see the pictures of ads though I couldn’t understand the text in them. But as I grew up I was able to correlate things I watched in the ads when I was able enough read about them in the later years (between 5 and 10). This clearly corroborates the famous saying about learning – “A picture is worth thousand words”. The pictures in the ads really helped me in keeping up with suitable pace of learning according to my age.

Secondly, children will be deprived of the societal knowledge about the entities existing in the society. With ads they get a sense of what is available in the market and what is going on. Although it seems unnecessary, it is helpful in understanding how the society works. The children might not well understand the ads in-depth but the advertisements would give a sense of something new to them. Parents won’t play a major role in introducing new things to them as they are scared about the bad that could happen to their young child because of the knowledge of the content showed. For instance, there was a friend of mine in primary school who was unaware of many items we discussed in the market. Due to the ignorance about such items, lack of exposure and lack of maturity by the time of teenage, he became lonely as he was isolated from the young age itself. That pushed him into depression when he became a teenager. Accordingly, there is no point in not directing targeted ads towards toddlers aged 2-5 which could keep them at loss.

In conclusion, the statement could be well-analyzed and debated if more information was provided. I strongly disagree that the television ads directed towards age group 2 to 5 should not allowed for two reasons. First, kids might be deprived of learning and second, they might also become lonely at later stage in life because of not being able to participate in their young toddler discussion.