Do you agree or disagree with the following statement These days children spend more time on doing homework or participating in organized activities related to school or sports However they should be given more time to do whatever they want

Nowadays students of all ages are subject to demanding everyday schedules, ranging from children in kindergartens to post-graduate students. It seems that the increasingly fierce competition among peers and the heavy academic burden make the situation inevitable and irreversible. Children have to spend less time on extracurricular activities. However, their busy school life may be a double-edged sword; it builds up their competence but rids them of life experience that can only be gained through exploring freely on their own.

To begin with, children can take advantage of their free time to learn things beyond textbooks. They include real-life experience and practical skills, which are undoubtedly necessary for individuals once exposed to society. For instance, I had plenty of free time in my childhood, so I learned lots of skills that are useful later on. In junior high school, we were asked to make a fire with lighters or matches. Some students were afraid, deeming it risky to get so close to a flame, but I showed no trepidation. Lighting a fire is undeniably an indispensable skill in life, but no teachers will instruct you on it. Such is the knowledge we can gain only from free exploration.

Additionally, we can realize what knowledge and skills are useful and should be acquired by doing whatever we want. Only being involved in daily routines at school may equip us with knowledge, but the usage in real life can only be acknowledged by ourselves. Little children tend to find putting one apple and another together interesting, so they are intrigued to learn basic math. I have benefited from various software for a long time, and that kindles my interest in pursuing software engineering. The idea that I need to learn this in the future keeps me motivated in further studies and research.

Furthermore, free exploration is the opportunity for children to develop distinctive characteristics which can define them. These features can sometimes help us stand out from other rivals. If several candidates are equipped with equal competence, their personal traits may act as a decider. Academic skills and knowledge can be acquired through practice and learning, but instincts and characteristics can hardly be cultivated. They are formed during childhood, mainly through free exploration. Without free time for doing what we want, people will all become identical, their unique traits having been lost unknowingly since they were kids.

In conclusion, free time helps individuals acquire practical knowledge, ignite interest in learning and shape their unique selves. Admittedly, schoolwork is essential for personal growth, but childhood isn’t meant to be all about it.