Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should

give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give

to their university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to support

your opinion.

I disagree with the statement. On the contrary, I think that the university should give more money to its university libraries instead of students’ sports activities. The reasons are as follows.

First, the university should care about students’ convenience. Therefore, if the university gives more money to university libraries, students can feel more convenient. To elaborate, if the university spends more money building new libraries, this means that students can have access to more books and articles. In addition, if the university decides to put new printers and computers in the library, students can use these hardware resources in the library to find books or copy pages. As a result, students will feel extremely convenient when they are looking for information and books in the library. However, if the university spend money on students’ sport events, it might make students spend a lot of time and effort helping it prepare sport events, and most students find these tasks extremely inconvenient.

Secondly, universities should care about their reputation, and spending more money on libraries can help them get a better image. For instance, if the university spend money decorating the library, then students can enjoy reading books and articles in a relatively comfortable environment. Moreover, people who visit the library will generally think that this university places an emphasis on its students’ studying. As a result, the university can gain a better reputation. However, if the university decides to spend this money on sport activities, most people will think that it is not paying attention to its students’ academic performances. Consequently, the university might gain a bad image.

Finally. Universities should care about their money, and giving more money to libraries can help them save lots of money. To elaborate, if the university want to hold a football festival, it might need to spend more than $1,000,000 dollars renting spaces, buying equipment, and preparing drinks and food. Moreover, hiring coaches to train the students alone might cost more than $500,000 dollars. Accordingly, the university needs to spend a great deal of money on sport activities. On the contrary, if the university wants to expand the library by buy new shelves, then these shelves generally cost $50,000 dollars only. What’s more, it might only need to spend $80,000 repairing old walls and roofs. Hence, it is clear that spending money on libraries can help the university save lots of money.

In conclusion, I maintain that the university should give more money to libraries instead of sport activities, because the university care about students’ convenience, reputation, as well as money.