Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Use specific reasons and examples to support your an

The management of the budget in university is always a tough problem. The leagues like sports team and dancing clubs requires lots of money to run every year, while the school also need to pay for professor and build new facilities like libraries. In my view, the educational affairs deserves more budget then sports and social activities.

To begin with, although extracurricular activities is significant in university, teaching and learning is the main theme in university. Most students would prefer having a better learning experience then improve the quality of sports and social programs. Take my self as an example, I love playing badminton but not a professional player. I enjoy playing badminton with friends casually rather than join the school teams and train for high intension. It's natural that educational services get more financial support then hobbies.

What's more, the sports clubs have more funding from outside compared to educational services like class and libraries. Many schools features one professional sports team that will join national competitions. These teams are so famous that some vendors like energy drink will sponsor them and the funding can cover the cost of court renting etc. , so they need less support to run. Social activities are similar. These activities either have sponsorship from related organizations or requires student to pay for themselves. By contrast, among the school services only construction of facilities like libraries have donation from alumni. The school still have to pay for hundreds of professors and faculty, which can be quite costly. Professors with tenure track enjoys high salaries, let alone the tremendous research funding of their labs.

To sum up, the social activities and sports in university is less important then educational services, which is the core of university education. Plus they have more outside sponsorship compared to classes and constructions. Sports and social programs deserves funding, but not as much as classes and libraries in my opinion.