Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? “When people succeed, it is entirely because of hard work. Luck has nothing to do with their success.” Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

Most people in the world think that success is mixed with hard work and luck. However, I personally believe that when people succeed, it is definitely due to their diligence. Luck is usually unrelated to their success. There are several reasons why I feel this way, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, success is a long period of hard work, and luck in contrast is a one time opportunity. Usually, in the fast changing world, if people want to be successful, they need to consistently study hard and work hard to gain the newest knowledge and keep pace with the new technology. For example, my mom has been a saleswoman for thirty years. In the past, my mom didn’t have a cell phone, she used public telephone or mails to communicate with clients. After 10 years, the cell phone was invented. She needed to learn how to use it to chat with clients. Due to her diligence, she became the first employee who knew how to use a cell phone. She could contact her clients immediately whenever they needed, and her clients were all satisfied with her service. As a result, she became a top saleswoman in her company.

Furthermore, as the saying goes, “Chance favors the prepared mind.” Success needs to accumulate a lot of experiences and careful planning, while luck does not need to be prepared. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a freshman in university, I applied for an internship for an operational specialist in my favorite startup. However, due to my lack of related experience and outstanding resumes, I was directly declined by the company. After three years, I accumulated four working experiences related to the occupation, so I applied for the same internship again. This time I got the job because of my eye-catching resume. All the work was worth it, I finally worked in my dream company, and I really had a memorable working experience there.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that hard work is the only way to lead people to succeed. This is because success is the long period of diligence, accumulation of experiences and careful planning.