Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When people solve problems as a group, they come up with better solutions that if they were to try to solve the problem individually. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of working in a group. If I were asked to choose, I would definitely prefer to work on problems in a group rather than working alone. I firmly believe this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, working in group brings different perspectives to conquer a problem from each individual which leads to a better solution. When people work in group and discuss about a problem they come up with different ideas as everyone has different acumen, through process and vision to approach a problem. These different perspective leads to number of solutions and it gives different options for a team to choose from. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced from my personal experience. Five years ago, I was working as a sales analyst in a multinational company. I have been tasked to work on an idea to attract more companies to buy our products which could lead to increase in company’s profits. I was trying to reach different mid-size and large size companies thinking of that our products can only be afforded by them. However, every time I tried reaching them for talking about our products I came empty handed and my sales goals were not reaching anywhere. As a result, I approached my manager with this and was suggested that I should try calling small size companies as our product will better fit in their eco-system. Surprising, when I started talking with small size companies as suggested by manger, I was able to reach to my goal within 20 days. This clearly depicts that when people work in group they get better ideas to solve a problem.

Secondly, when people work in groups to solve a problem they get to a solution earlier than working individually. With more coming as part of group discussion to conquer a problem, it becomes easy and fast to reach a solution. Drawing from own experience, when I was working on building a website for my company, I reached a point where I was not able to load a webpage. Although I used best tools to resolve the issue, but I was not able to get to roots of it. However, when I called a team meeting and showed my code to different colleagues, they were quick to point out the flaw in my code. Moreover, they were able to posit few more suggestions which enabled my webpage to load faster. This indicates that having different minds to work on a problem can help to reach a solution in much quicker time.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is beneficial to work on solving problems in a group. This is because working in groups leads to better solutions, and because it provide quicker solutions.