Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When people solve problems as a group, they come up with better solution that if they were to try to solve the problem individually. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The question of teamwork versus working independently is an old one. There are some tasks that need a group of people to work together in order to accomplish a common goal. A city cannot be planned and developed by a single person. However, there are a few problems that could get worse when multiple people try to work on it. For example, choosing a car is an intricately personal decision and needs to be decided by the person looking to buy it. It cannot be decided by a group as every individual has their own taste and past experiences which will different that the person who wants to buy it,

So, whether a group comes up with a better solution or an individual, depends on the problem at hand.

To elaborate the concept of group work, consider the case of city planning discussed above. Not only is this an enormous task, but also very difficult and time consuming. A single person cannot possibly comprehend the nature of the ask and it would be impossible to even come up with a mediocre solution, less an ideal one. Such a task would require a special force of people skilled and experienced in the many facets of the problem. With their combined and complementary and dedicated efforts, a solution can be drafted. This would need to be critically analysed, shortcomings would have to be found. Amends will have to be made and only after careful and precise execution, a solution would be found.

On the contrary, consider the above mentioned problem of buying a car. There is a chance that it would not be beneficial to work in a group. Even a discussion among a group will result in too many opinions, each based on the individual person's bias, and taste. This is just confuse the buyer and throw him haywire. Best approach here would be to research the cars individually and buy whatever the person wants.

Finally, there are a few problems that don't have a clear winner in deciding between group effort or individual efforts. Lets consider studying for the exams. Some students prefer studying alone as compared to a group as they don't want to wait on their preparation till the entire group finishes. Learning in a group may hamper the progress of a very fast learner. On the other hand, a few students prefer to learn and study in groups. Every person can learn a few topics themselves and then disseminate the knowledge to others. This speeds up the learning and also teaches the group the most important things learned by the group. In the end, it all comes down to what the student himself prefers and there is no better solution to this problem.

Thus, people solving problems together may not always be the best solution. It depends on the problem at hand, and also on choice and preference of the people involved.