Do you agree or disagree with the following statement When people succeed it is entirely because of hard work Luck has nothing to do with their success Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position

Some people may think that success is the result of hard work and luck has nothing to do with success. However, I disagree with this opinion. I believe that, when people succeed, it is not always because of hard work, and luck is linked to success. I will discuss the reasons to support my opinions as follows.

First, I know the cases that luck has a lot of impact on success. Let me share my story when I was a high school student. In Japan, where I live, students need to pass the entrance examination to enter the university. To prepare for it, most of my friends studied for many hours every day. On the other hand, some of my friends did not study hard and spend time on club activities such as tennis or music. I thought that those who studied hard would get a high score and pass the examination and those who did not study hard would fail. However, it was totally different in reality. Examination style was changed a lot and those who studied every day failed the exam accidentally. On the other hand, those who did not study hard passed the examination. As this example shows, there are actual cases that luck influences people’s success regardless of their hard work in some cases.

Second, the precondition of success may be changed. In my case, I was assigned to a project which aims to create a dashboard of key business measurements for sales employees. I worked very hard for several months to manage the database and create the prototype of the dashboard and that project was almost closed. However, the project was stopped suddenly and regarded as a less important project due to the negative effect of COVID -19. As a result, the time and effort I spent on this project was not rewarded at all. On the other hand, one of my colleagues did an analysis of COVID-19, which was not a difficult task but highly evaluated by executives. This example clearly illustrates that whether people can success really depends on other factors.

Certainly, some people may insist that luck has nothing to do with success because they succeeded every time they work hard. However, it is not guaranteed that the same tendency continues in the future because the situation and rules of the world and society change day by day.

In conclusion, for the reasons as I mentioned above, I oppose the opinion that luck has nothing to do with success.