Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Despite young people nowadays are much busier than before, it dose not necessarily mean that they do not help their communities. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities. Instead, they use different ways to contribute their communities.

To begin with, it is true that young people today are really busy, due to the rapid pace of the society. Thus, if they want to make sure that they are competitive enough in the society, they would have to spend additional time to increase their abilities, such as self-learning etc. For example, I have a friend, Ian, he studied finance when he was in university. Yet when he started working, he realized that a lot of his coworkers know programming, which helps them analyze financial data more quickly. To make sure that he would not be the next employee being supplanted, he decided to use his leisure time to learn how to write codes on the Internet. Since then, he does not have enough time to do things other than learning.

Although young people now have less leisure time to contribute the communities that we traditionally define, like helping other residents who live in the same area, with the help of the Internet, they can use other ways to help new types of communities. Since the Internet has shortened the distance between people, helping communities is not restricted in the traditional way. Young people today can provide their advice for people who need help, which forms unconventional communities. For instance, my friend Ian again. During the time that he was learning programming, he received a lot of help from different anonymous users on the Internet, such as teaching him how to debugging or giving him advices for his working issues. And later on, when he became strong enough, he turned to help other people too. Under this relationship, a new type of communities, people who want to learn coding, are formed.

In conclusion, though most young people do not have as much time to help traditional communities as before, they are still helping their communities, but in a very different way.