Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

From a general standpoint, by the instantaneous change in the today world, determination of the most expedient educational approaches becomes more puzzling. In order to yield the best results, currently universities all over the world are practicing a trial and error to foster a profoundly functional generation of graduates. One particular strategy is applying some general courses, like history, in students' curriculum regardless of their major field of study. However, in every respect, I am on the counter mind with this decision for a number of cogent explanations discussed in the following.

The first point that acquires a considerable attention is the matter of the personal interest. Students basically choose an area of study based on their own ties to the subject that is, in fact, deliberately decided based on their talents, capabilities and incentives. When forcing a student to pursue a totally irrelevant course to his/her potentials, we should bear in mind that they might not be able to show any progress in that given subject. A well-known quote of Einstein, the most acclaimed scientist of all history, would perfectly shed light on this issue; "Everybody is a genius, but if you want to judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it would spend its whole life considering itself as an idiot." Obviously, memorizing the complicated names and events in the history lessons is not everybody's talent and favor. So it is of paramount importance not only not to compel university students to take such courses, but aware them of the potential hazards of this decisions which they might take only for fulfilling the quantity requirements of their semester schedule.

Meanwhile, it is just one side of the card. On the other side, compulsory general courses, such as history, can substantially wedge (force) added pressures to the management of a university. Imagine a polytechnic university which is functioning with the optimum number of faculty members of engineering sciences. Addition of the lecturers for the history course can dramatically boost the government expenses for providing their salary, personal offices and necessary teaching apparatus. The subtle point we should deem is that whenever the university demands for money increases, the quality of their services is diluted as they usually are obliged to divide the budget between the previous and newly-added projects. According to the minimal benefits of the society from the general understanding of history among its specialists, this undertaking fails to hold a meaning.

Admittedly, the universities thrive to progress is appreciated when every aspect of any brand-new resolution is delicately scrutinized. A history course is neither an appropriate choice for the student's success nor a reasonable financial investment for the government. No doubt, had I been a university curriculum planner, I would have never devised this aberrant innovation just on the spur of the moment.