Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout high school, many students have been required to take history courses for four years. As these students graduated, there are debates on whether or not they should continue taking mandatory history courses once they get into university. Although there are certainly benefits for university students to know more about history, they should not be required to take the courses because individually this would distract the student from his or her field of study and also because this can get in the way of developing a more well-rounded and diverse community or even society.

Unlike high school, most of the university students pay for their college education. Many of them choose to go to university because they want to be specialized in a certain field and get well-prepared for their future career. Requiring these students to take certain courses is unfair for them, besides the possibility that they may be interested in the course. Universities should not require their students to pay for classes that they do not want to take. Furthermore, having an extra subject to study for may distract a student from his or her field of study. They would be forced to spend time on studying history, which could have been used to learn more about their own major. After graduating university, these students who have spent less time on their intended major of study would be less competitive compared to other students who have been focusing on one certain field.

Some people may argue that learning about history can make a person more well-rounded, that history can teach one to be a better person and have more insight about the society. However, this is not true because for a person to be well-rounded, there are many other ways besides knowing a lot about what has happened in the past. Things like music, literature, and sports can also make a person life more colorful and teach them important lessons in their life. If a university requires students to take history class, students will have even less spare time to develop all the different kinds of interest besides their fields of study. The society can certainly be more diverse and beautiful when there are people interested in all kinds of things. History is one of them, but definitely not the only one of them. Requiring university students to learn more about history may benefit students who enjoy it, but for many other students who do not enjoy and for the society’s diversity, it is not a good choice to make. Also, the required history during the high school years have already gave students a good foundation of their history knowledge, thus it is unnecessary to require these students to dive more deeply into these subjects if they are not major in it or interested in it.

Universities should not require their students to take history courses. College students are adults and they should have the ability to choose courses that they think is the best for them. As they develop their individual unique interest, which of course includes history but more than history, the community of the campus and even the society outside the college would become more colorful and full of wonder and surprise.