Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between two people.

Give reasons and details to support answers.

As the adage says, "Honesty is the backbone of every relationship." Being honest means telling truth to the other person with whom one is in a relationship. Telling the truth strengthens the relationship and avoids quarrels and conflicts between people. Thus, because of these reasons, I agree with the statement that always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between two people.

First and foremost, telling the truth is the first step in building trust between two people in any relationship. Trust is a prerequisite feature that all relationships have in common. Where there is no trust, there cannot be any strong or lasting bond. Therefore, when one tells the truth, he shows that he is a person on whom the other can rely on. My personal experience is a good example. Me and my friend, Noah, we have been friends since eighth grade, and now, we are finishing college. The secret of our relationship is that he is honest and tells me the truth and I do the same. This bolsters our bond of friendship between us as each of us trusts the other.

Moreover, telling the truth helps in the avoidance of conflicts. When a person decides to be in any kind of relationship with another, he commits himself to accept the other as he or she is. When one does not show his real self or does not tell the truth, he is not being authentic which may lead to conflicts in case the other discovers it. Henceforth, being honest and telling the truth aids in the prevention of conflicts which may arise because of lies and misunderstanding resulting from not knowing the truth. A good example is the story of my cousin, Cynthia. Recently, she broke up with her boyfriend, because she found out his drinking habit that he had not informed her when they started dating, and Cynthia did not approve it. This situation could have been avoided if the boyfriend had told her the truth from the beginning, and maybe, they could have not even started the relationship in the first place.

In conclusion, telling the truth always is the most salient thing to stress on in a relationship between two people because it renders the relationship more solid and strong and contributes to the prevention of conflicts between them.