Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

As higher education play an important role in modern society, the learning environment can largely affect student's life. How to properly distribute resource among various realms in universities has become a crucial topic. Some people claim that sports and social activities should receive same amount of financial support as classes and libraries. In my opinion, most funds should be allocated to course-related resources.

First and foremost, the main purpose of university is to provide education. It is reasonable to spend more money on classes for better learning quality. For example, classrooms with digital equipment, such as projectors and interactive whiteboards, can increase teaching efficiency. Some departments, such as chemistry and engineering, also need laboratory apparatuses for research. The investment on these items are relatively practical and are advantageous to all the students.

Additionally, proportionality is another factor that needs to be considered. I concede that sports and social activities have some positive influences on students, but there is a chance that not everyone in the college enjoys it. Students who are busy with part-time jobs or have a heavy course load may not have time to use the sport resources. Likewise, social activities are not the essential part in one's college life. Since every students pay expensive tuition fees, it would be unfair if the university allots much budget to things that are only valuable to a group of people.

Moreover, the education institutes have limited budget. Under normal circumstances, the financial requirement of sports and social activities is far less than classes and libraries. Even if some people assert that these aspects have the same importance to students, it would be unnecessary to give equal financial support to both sides. In a situation where funding fails to meet every demand, most of them should be used on the main point, which is education.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, sports and social activities are not supposed to receive equal financial support, though they may be beneficial to students. Universities and colleges should focus on education-related resources, and create a suitable learning environment for students.