Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

I agree with this. I think sports and social activities are of utmost importance; therefore, should not be neglected. These extraclassroom activities should receive adequate attention and funding from the colleges.

Some people argue that extra curricular activities can have significant drawbacks on a student’s study potential. They cite distractive and inconsequential nature of these activities in a student’s career path to support their point. However, I strongly disagree with these people and believe that these activities offer far more advantages for young adults. I will support my viewpoint with three reasons.

First of all, these activities positively impact young adults as they provide an opportunity for socialization. Students can benefit by having a larger friend circle, understanding the importance of cooperation and developing people skills. Certainly, it is possible for students to be impacted by vitiating influences such as drugs, as a consequence of these interactions. While this might be true, I believe that the encouraging effects outweigh the ills. I can recall that during my college days, I was able to befriend a fair number of friends, only after joining the debating society. I also learnt a great deal of lessons which helped me become an effective communicator. It is important for students to pick up these skill sets, while still in college because it is uncertain whether such opportunities will re-present themselves at a later stage.

Hence, in addition to the significance of socialization, colleges should invest in sports because it encourages students to lead a healthy lifestyle. Students will fare better in academics if they are fit. For instance, sports such as football and basketball are known to increase circulation of blood to brain; thereby, boosting concentration and precluding the chances of depression. These effects help students study more efficiently and reach their maximum. This has been attested by various researches and studies. If the overall academic performance of a college rises, its reputation will be enhanced. Thus, institutions should finance sports clubs.

Finally, by having state of the art equipments and world class coaching facilities in sports clubs, colleges can attract students. By way of an example, student athletes choose to attend colleges which have an indoor stadium and good coaches, preferably ex-athletes. With heightened inflow of students, colleges can benefit financially, by that can afford highly qualified teachers. This will result in a lucrative cycle of improved reputation and increased demand.

To conclude, based on the arguments explored above, I am of the opinion that sports and social activities bear a wholly encouraging effect on the life of students. Every college that is concerned about the welfare of students should sink money into sports and activities. It is actually a win-win situation as even colleges can derive monetary benefits from it.