Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

It is very challenging for universities and colleges administration to decide where to invest their money. We all know that teaching with professional knowledge is important both to universities and students. However, sports and social activities do not receive the same attention as classes and libraries. Personally, I am of to believe that sports and social activities should receive the same financial support as classes and libraries get from universities and college. I will provide two reasons to support my point of view.

To begin with, sports and social activities might be beneficial to student`s mental health. It means that staying in the same place and studying constantly may be harmful and stressful for students. One personal example may fit as an argument for this reason. In the second semester of my bachelor degree I was too focused and stressed studying for my final physics test because I needed to receive a good grade. I remember that I spent two weeks studying for the test and I knew every detail of this subject but as a result, I did not receive a good grade. I started to think where I failed and then I realized that I gave up in that period of my gym practice which was essential to me to relax and calm my mind. This is an example of how practicing sports can help in our mental health.

Secondly, sports and social activities may teach us how to be more cooperative with others in the “corporate world”. It means that working as a team is essential nowadays if you want to have good results in companies. An example of mine can illustrate that. When I was 15, I used to play volleyball at school and to win the games I had to learn how to work as a team and also to learn the weaknesses and strengths from my own, my colleagues and opponents. This is very much like what happens in real life as well. Teamwork is very important, once you enter the real “world of work” and in order to function well on a team, you have to know what the strengths and weakness are of the member on the team, and even of yourself. Playing on a team sport helped prepare me for this valuable skill I would need later in life.

To sum it up, I strongly believe that sports and social activities should receive equal financial support as classes and libraries do from university and colleges. This is because sports and social activities may be beneficial to mental health and they may also provide good teaching for life.