Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

In the recent days, the world has been changing enormously at a lightening speed with the advent of new ideas and technology. Most of the views of previous generations have been moderated nowadays. In the past, we mostly dependent on our parents to make decisions about our lives. Many people might argue that this dependency remains same in our generation. But personally I think, young people today are performing well in taking decisions about their lives. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs present a cursory glance at the most compelling reasons.

The first reason that comes to my mind is that in modern days there prevails a flow of information. There are lots of online resources on any topic. Thus, if a person have some time he/she can make research on any topic. Youtube, facebook groups, blogs, newspapers, online communities etc provide a lot of contents and people can learn from these sources. Therefore, these open resources help people to analyze current trends, learn something that excites him/her and validates each hypotheses. For this reason, to take every decision, young people do not feel the need to discuss with parents, who were only source of knowledge in our days. Advancement of technology helps people to take better decision without any doubt.

Another reason that deserves some word is that people nowadays are more career oriented. Discussion on career path is common between group of people. Also, educational institutes and other organizations arrange workshops, training and discussion sessions on regular basis. To get expert opinion, people today participate in those social gatherings. For example, last week I attend a workshop on career path which discussed about future aspects of computer science in job market. Thus, I get a clear picture from the meeting and choose to pursue my degree in computer science.

Finally, it is tough for people of older generation to adapt with fast moving changes in our world. Previously, parents mostly guide their kids based on their experience and sometimes they prefer to make their children follow tradition. Now, the world is open to young people and they have all the options in front them to choose which is best for their lives.

To wrap it up, advancement of technology make the world smaller and open unknown opportunities to all. Consequently, this diminishes the dependency of young people on parents to take decisions for their future.