Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Leadership is a great talent and skill. Some people believe that leadership skills are inborn and cannot be learned, however, I strongly oppose this generalization and believe that leadership can be learned. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, any skill including leadership can be learned through intense exercise and training. Human beings are molded in such a way that through hard work and passion, he can achieve anything in the world. Management schools all over the world does the same magic.They totally convert a student to a competent manager, through intense training and exercise.My classes in the management school was well organised with lot of discussions, debates and tests that after four years of schooling I became so sophisticated and strong leader. I acknowledge that I went to school with dedication but not with any inborn talent. On the other hand, even if the person have talent of leadership, if he does not nurture and practice the skill, it will disappear from him. Thus it is the hard work and dedication who makes a man a great leader not the inborn talents.

Secondly, I believe that more than the inborn talent ,life experiences make a person a great leader. Life experiences changes the person totally and makes him fit to the position of leadership. My leadership story in college days is a great example of this . When I joined college, I was not aware of any of leadership qualities, later it was the harsh reality of college situation which made me a fighter. I fought for the equality of rules for boys and girls. I gradually turned to be a great leader understanding the reality of the world around me.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that leadership qualities can be learned by any human being. This is because lot of hard work and practice to achieve leadership skills and real world exposure molds anyone to be a great leader regardless of inborn skill.