Do you agree or disagree the following statements?

Grades(marks) encourage students to learn.

Use specific reasons and example to support your answer.

Recent years have witnessed people's growing attention towards education. Coming along with this phenomenon is a heated debate about whether grades are necessary and beneficial for students. Some hold the view that grades will exert too much pressure on students, offer no meaningful measure of progress, while others think that grades can motivate students to learn and strive for excellence. I agree with the latter.

Firstly, grades offer an objective measurement of education and a good feedback for students. With scheduled exams, grades provide students a measurement of their performance, and a feedback about how well they are understanding and retaining the learning material, all of which can be used as a gauge to record their progress and identify areas where improvement is needed. During this process, if students receive high grades, they will feel motivated to continue learning and perform well in the future assesments. On the other hand, if students receive low grades, it can signal to them that they need study more and work harder.

Secondly, grades can encourage healthy competitions among students. When students are aware of how their peers are performing through a standandized test, it will give them a clear awareness about the academic differences between each other, which can be a great incentive to study harder to improve their own performances to get higher grades in the future. For example, when I was in the middle school, I was not really good at math, but I didn't realized it until an important joint examination of my city. The math test was more difficult than normal, and I got a low grade. So finally I failed to secure the award of the Excellent Student that year, though I did well in the other subjects. After that, I was clearly aware of my shortcomings and disparities with other excellent students, which motivated me to study harder in math.