Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Views vary when it comes to whether teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Some people might reckon teachers are as appreciated as before, however, I agree with the statement that teachers are more respectful and valued in the past. The reason is that the risen of the internet, which provides abundant and accessible information, replace teachers in many different aspects.

To begin with, the main function of teachers is to delay professional knowledge, but the internet can substantially deliver tremendous knowledge any place and any time. For example, when I was in the college, my professor gave lectures in the class and assigned many assignments after class. Some assignments were extremely difficult to find enough information based on the lectures to deliver sound answers, so I had to surf on the internet to find out more information or background knowledge. Since there was no limit information on the internet, I could absorb as much as I wanted, and organized those information to my paper. Hence, it can be inferred that a person can approach more knowledge on the basis of the internet.

In addition, teachers sometimes deliver speeches based on their subjective perspectives. On the other hand, the internet can provide more information from more than one perspective. For example, when I was in my junior high, I recalled there was a controversial issue regarding homosexual marriage, and my teacher told me that it was unnatural and horrified, for this contracted with the evolutionary rules. At that time, I didn't realize how complicated this issue was and simply accepted what teacher said. However, when I grew up and looked through some discussion on the internet, I figured that there were much more perspectives. Some of them disagreed with my teacher's argument, claiming that same-sex marriage should be legalized because every person has the right to marry the person they love. Therefore, I think the only perspective from a teacher is far away from enough, and the internet can otherwise provide us various perspectives.

Thirdly, while some people are convinced that teachers always tell the right things, I recognize that sometimes teacher might be wrong if they didn't catch up the newest knowledge. For example, I remembered one of my science teachers told me there were only nine planets in the solar system. However, after decades of exploring, the scientist discovered the tenth planet in the solar system, and they published their discovery on the website with detailed orientation. Hence, it can be inferred that internet somehow can provide the newest and more accurate information compared to the teacher.

Consequently, based on the adequate justifications mentioned above, we can safely arrive at the conclusion that teachers were more appreciated or valued in the past.