Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

Since the beginning of this century, in all distinctive civilized societies, it has been a controversial argument among individuals, through which numerous conflicts have been engendered. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that children have become less creative due to advances in technology, while others consider this issue in a whole diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made, in spite of all the opposite attitudes, I strongly concur with the statement that nowadays, children have become less creative than they were in the past. The outstanding reasons for my opinion would be explored as follows.

First and foremost, they spend less time to communicate with other kids or their family. As far as I am concerned, the better you are in communicating the more ideas you will obtain. In the past, children were dedicating their time to both family and friends, so they would be able to hear others opinions and ideas. Therefore, such an activity would be such a spark for a new way of thinking. From my personal experience, when I was a little kid, I used to spend my leisure time playing with my brother. In fact, we used to share our ideas in order to create a new game, so that we would be entertained.

In addition to the less communicating and bonding, children rely on the internet too much now. I realize that some people would probably disagree with me, but it is my point of view that not only do children waste their time on the internet but also they do their homework using the internet. As a matter of fact, it appears to me as if they are cheating. For instance, my niece, Sarah, were accustomed to writing her essays using sample essays of others which were available on the internet. However, once I made her to write her essay on her own. It was unbelievable that she would not be able to think of any ideas about her essay.

Apart from the arguments that have been explored above there is another reason that deserves some words here. That is, today children spend their time on the activities that do not have educational values. To illustrate, children in the past spent their leisure time on activities such as reading which were beneficial for them. However, today, spending too much time on playing video games, surfing the net, and chatting online, most of the kids neither enhance their information nor broaden their knowledge. In my perspective, reading books provides children too many ideas which they can utilize in their life.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments that have been explored above, I agree with the statement that children were more creative in the past than they are today. Since they spend too much time on surfing the net, they do not have time to communicate with others, think about their assignments, and read books in order to improve their creativity.