Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

In modern society, people have more opportunity to meet new friends. In order to keep our happiness, it is a controversial question that whether it is more important to maintain a friendship with a small group of people or to make new friends. For me, I certainly support that it is more essential to keep a small number of friends for a long time, and the following are several reasons to consolidate my standpoint.

To begin with, it is important to have shared experiences with others if one wants to be happy, and the friendship withstands a long time provide various common memory. Take my own experience as an example. I share a lot of experience with my high school classmates. We prepared the matriculation exam for university together, joined the basketball team of our school, and took a graduation trip to Japan. We would talk about these experience again and again, even when we have graduated from high school for 5 years. As a result, it is interesting every time when I chat with my high school friends.

Furthermore, it is essential to have common time in order to make the friendship fulfilled with joy, and old friends usually have a common schedule. Old friends know each other well, so they can understand when friends are busy and when they have time. Therefore, they can easily find the common time slot that all of them are free, and have a joyful afternoon tea or hold a party. On the other hands, because new friends do not know the schedule of others in detail, they have difficulty to schedule a trip or a dinner together.

Moreover, having similar thoughts with friends is second to none while considering the happiness, and the friends maintained for a long time have similar thoughts. Take my best friend Ken as an example. Since both of us major in computer science, we have various topics related to computer science to discuss. In addition, we also hold a similar political view for Taiwanese politicians, and we usually complain about their policies. Thus. this similar thoughts improve our friendship and bring about valuable happiness to both of us. Conversely, people have a larger difference in thoughts with their new friends. Consequently, they will have fierce arguments with each other, or they could not present their true thoughts sincerely to others.

In a nutshell, I strongly believe that in order to be happy, people should maintain a long friendship with a small number of people. That is because, having shared experiences, common time, and similar thoughts are important to gain a great level of happiness.