Do you agree or disagree Internet should be like other services such as roads and government should provide it to the public with no cost

In the last few decades, with the development of technology and science, the internet has become a substantial part of humankind. Internet acts as a bridge and fills the gap between countries and cultures whereby people feel closer to each other. In this regard, some people think that government should provide internet access free of cost so that every citizen gets the opportunity to use it. While others hold a different opinion that it is not a wise idea to provide internet free of cost. From my perspective, the former view contains more weight. I take the position on account for the following reasons.

Primarily the first reason that makes me hold the belief that life would be much easier and simpler after having a free internet connection. Also, it motivates children and young crowds to acquire their tasks. To shed light on it, children would get an opportunity to take distance learning courses. Additionally, in this pandemic, mostly all schools provide online education to their students. Moreover, people do not need to go to the workplace instead they can finish their office work online by sitting at home. Hence, people would need an internet connection in order to acquire all these tasks, and they would face many difficulties by not having free internet connections.

Another equally noteworthy reason to bear in mind is that needless to say, it is hard for the government to provide free internet service to each and every individual since it is a cost-effective idea, and the government is not capable enough to bear a huge finance load. However, providing free internet will be beneficial for the government because the government can make a large revenue from the online market. To be more specific, nowadays, online shopping has become one of the most popular platforms where people tend to purchase almost everything from online stores and websites. consequently, it helps the government to earn a lot of profit. Therefore, arranging free internet connections would be beneficial for both governments as well as the local public.

Lastly, having discussed the issue from this point of view, I rather look at it from another standpoint. Admittedly, there are evident benefits of having free internet, however, it could have some negative effects on the community as well. Internet addiction is a growing problem everywhere since children might get addicted to playing online games and watching their favorite shows on the internet. Additionally, some adults try to access some appropriate sexual websites available on different websites. hence, having free internet might negatively affect children’s and young ones’ life.

All in all, contemplating all remarks, I strongly believe that government should provide internet at free of cost to everyone.