Do you agree or disagree that learning through concepts is better than learning through facts?

I agreed with that it is important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Not only the students but i think it's important for all people to learn ideas and concepts to work with them in the life, in addition when students learn how to thinking, how this idea or concept will lead them to reach to the fact , in my view it is better than if they learn the ready facts. Following discussion reveal my stand:

First of all when the students learn the ideas i think they will do better with any problem that may facing them, for example when i was at high school i was really good with facts and i loved them it was easiest thing to me. why? Because i knew the concepts which will lead me to reach to the facts easily .i understood the concepts which lead me to doing good with anything. I remembered i got top score atmathematic.

Second, if the students know the facts without understanding the ideas or the concepts that lead to this fact so they do nothing when they facing another fact even it has the same concept. They should know the way that lead to the facts, this will make any facts easy to understand. For instance my friend merry was kept all the facts but didn't understand how she can get it , so at the exam even merry knew the fact but when she tried to reach the fact with different ideas she felt , so didn't get the right way from the begening it will not lead to success.

In conclusion, this issue is highly controversial, but if it comes to me i prefer to understand ideas and concepts first then learning the facts for the reasons mentioned above.