Do you agree or disagree Rather than help children with their schoolwork parents should encourage their children do their work independently

With the society developing at an unprecedentedly quick pace, education has become the biggest concern of a large proportion of people nowadays. Homework, as an indispensable part of education, is now ubiquitous in all stages of education. And there is a long-existing debate that whether parents should help their children with their school work or leave them alone to deal with it. Some hold the view that parents do have to help their children with school work. However, I, conversely, firmly believe that children should complete their school work independently.

First of all, doing homework alone helps children to develop an independent personality. Every eagle has its time to fly by itself in the sky. And, of course, the same applies to children. Though warm and comforting, parents’ help cannot accompany their children forever. Children must eventually learn to live on their own, independent from the cradle of family. Therefore, in a gesture to get ready for the day to come, it is of necessity for them to try doing things within their abilities in advance. The earlier your children learn to cope with their own issues alone, the easier they will take to move on valorously to their own life out of the protection of family.

Apart from that, it is also essential to notice that doing homework by themselves helps children build up a deeper command of the knowledge they learn. Sloth is within everybody. When help is available somewhere, it is easy to give up striving for ourselves and merely turn to that help instead. And there is no exception for children. With their parents helping with difficult problems all the time, children will gradually get reluctant to contemplate academic problems on their own. After all, when confronted with a challenge, it is much more painless to seek help than to find a way to get through. As a result, as time goes by, what have learned is just to evade hard nuts in their study, rather than true academic knowledge.

Granted, in certain situations, help from parents in conducive to the study of their children. Children could possibly learn things that are not included in classed from the tutor of their parents. However, the fact is that school work nowadays is not simple for a considerable proportion of parents. Without hours of hard work, scarcely can parents make a better understanding than their children do. Therefore, though sounding plausible, helping children with school work is not practical for most parents.

To wrap up what I have mentioned above, in view of the development of children’s independence, as well as the academic outcome of both teaching methods, I strongly concur with the idea that school work should be done alone by the children themselves. Help from parents, to a large extent, is impractical and even hazardous to their study.