During the times of economic crisis, which of the following should the government spend less
money on? a. Education b. Health Care c. Support for the unemployed
During the times of economic crisis, people often possess different perspectives on which aspects of
the budget allocation should the government spend less on: education, health care or support for the
unemployed. As for me, I strongly argue that the government should reduce the budget on support
for unemployed people because the government cares about budget control, citizens’ well-being and
reputation.
First of all, the government places emphasis on budget control, and cutting the budget for the
unemployed can help them successfully control their budget during the crisis. For example, when
the Hong Kong government encountered the economic crisis in 2008, they decided to reduce the
budget for unemployed people after careful consideration. Originally the government provided
20,000 NT dollars to each unemployed person, but during this time, it only gave them 8,000 NT
dollars. Moreover, the government can use that money to support other programs that really lack
economic support, such as helping homeless people in the streets or providing local nursing houses
more supplies. As a result, the government not only controls their budget successfully, but also can
save more than 100,000 NT dollars per month.
Secondly, the government cares about its citizens’ well-being, but reducing the budget on health
care may hurt its citizens. For example, the Vietnam government reduced the budget on health care
when it encountered a severe economic crisis 10 years ago. At that time, the amount of ambulances
dropped from 100,000 to 1,000 in every city. Also, there is only one doctor and one nurse on each
floor in the hospital to take care of patients. Therefore, many injured people cannot be cured in time
and even died of this reason. In contrast, if the Vietnam government chose to reduce the budget on
education, its citizens can still get easy access to medical resources under the depression and this
decision will clearly not cause such disasters. Apparently, cutting the budget for unemployed people
would not harm its citizens’ benefit that much.
Last but not least, the government focuses on its reputation during this period, but cutting the
budget on education can destroy its reputation. For example, the Chinese government chose to
reduce the budget on education while facing an economic crisis in 1997. Many experts and parents
criticized the policy. What’s worse, people decided to stage protests in the streets. Thus, the
government lost more than 30% of its citizens support in this year. On the other hand, If the
government reduced the budget on support for unemployed people, instead of education, experts
and parents may deem it as a wise decision because their children’s right to education would not be
affected. Thus, the government may win high appreciation from its citizens.
To sum up, the government should spend less on support for unemployed people. After all, the
government cares about budget control, citizens’ well-being and reputation.