The emperor Claudius of Rome ruled an empire spanning three continents between 41 and 54 CE. His reign was of massive importance to the history of ancient European civilization. In fact, the emperor was among the most innovative, fair, and wise in all Roman history. However, because Claudius suffered from physical handicaps and spoke with a stutter, ancient authors were biased against him. Consequently, their descriptions of his time in power are almost uniformly hostile, and many ancient historians ignore all of the good that he did.

Claudius’s reign was important for its major innovations. He conquered the island of Britain and incorporated it into the Roman Empire. He also built a new harbor for Rome and oversaw the construction of several new aqueducts, which brought clean water into the city. He even created laws to protect the rights of slaves and expand Roman citizenship to new people. All of these facts suggest that he was a gifted ruler with strong judgment, despite what may be found in histories written by his detractors.

Another reason for the hostility of ancient authors toward the reign of Claudius has to do with the fact that the writers were usually of senatorial class. Claudius was not elected to power by the Senate and severely limited its traditional powers during his reign. However, illustrating his wisdom, instead of entrusting high bureaucratic positions to senators, he preferred to give them to trustworthy slaves and former slaves (freedmen), whom he felt were more loyal to him. They worked efficiently, creating a bureaucratic framework for all future emperors. Claudius should be praised for giving political opportunities to new groups of people such as former slaves and even the women of the imperial household, including his wives.

Summarize the points made in the lecture you just heard, explaining how they cast doubt on points made in the reading.

Claudius is described as one of the most successful emperor as well as vicious fool. The text and the lecture has contradicting ideas. I have compared contrasted and summarised both the ideas below.

The textbook text describes Claudius as one of the most successful Roman emperor. His empire was spread between 3 continents between 41 to 54 CE. He was supposed to be the most innovative fair and wise in all Roman history. He helped build the ports for rome and aqueducts that brought fresh water to homes. He was praised to have slaves or former slaves for at high bureaucratic position. He aslo entrusted his wives and gave them political opportunities.

The professor admits that he did few good deeds in his reign but he agrees with the detractors of claudius that he was weak as a leader. He started describing his argument by pointing out the way Claudius became the ruler, by assasinating the emperor and by paying off the army. He almost took Rome to a civil war. He did work for the rights of slave but he had bad judgement. He use to judge before listening to his both sides. He concoured britain to win its prestige but destroyed its indegenious people.

Slaves that he kept on the higher bureaucratic positions were notorious and subject to bribe. His wives were killers and often poisioned people to find their way. As fate came around and his last wife killed him by using poisioning mushroom to make her son Nero as the emperor. Nero later came to be known as one of the worst ruler of Rome, which questions the judgement of Claudius making Nero as his successor of the throne.

Claudius might have been a good man by freeing slaves and developing the country but he was a fool that lead his pride and foolishness get to him.