Essay topics: TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

it is a well-known tradition for students to dislike dates. Therefore, it seems that maybe they don't like learning facts, which seems harder than "just" understanding an idea or concept.

Indeed, once you have understood the idea of something, theorically, it remains in your mind, whereas facts are easily forgotten. you can then re use the concept you have learned before, only because you understood how it worked, why it was important, and so on. And, something very important for the students, if they don't really remember the exact words their teacher used to explain the concept, they can made up something of their own, which may still be

accurate. On the contrary, you cannot do the same withs facts. facts, as it is

implied, are precise, occurred in special situations, and were followed by special consequences. For example, you can explain to someone what is the concept of Epicure's philosophy, even if you

don't really remember all the aspects of it, eventually your explanation may still be valuable for the other person. it is more complicated with facts; indeed, you cannot imagine how Henry 8th

left the Catholic church to create the church of England, unless you know the facts, the dates, the consequences, and so on. As far as I am concerned, I think that facts are as important as

concepts or ideas. facts are needed to understand concepts, and concepts are needed to foresee facts' consequences, for example. Concepts may sometimes be too abstract for students, and the

vocabulary generally used to explain a "concept" is not really words that we use in everyday's life, and it may be a problem for some students. Here, facts can help the teacher (or the person explaining) making the ideas clearer for the others. To conclude, I would say that there is a very close relationship between understanding ideas and learning facts; none is more important than the other, and when you are sutdying, you need to do both to succeed.