Essay topics: TPO45

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the growing concern of our children's future, no one can deny the role of their own parents. In this regard, some people are inclined to this opinion that today juveniles are independent of their parents in making their own decision compare to the past. On the other hand, others hold the opposite side and think that there is no difference between nowadays and the past. Although both sides have their own positions, personally, I believe that the first group carries more weight. In the following part, I will explain my reasons to justify my viewpoint.

first of all, thanks to the easy access to the internet each individual is now able to access a lot of information. In other words, using search engines like Google all people even kids can find all information that they need. For example, in the past it was very hard to find any information about one specific field or job opportunities, but, today people can easily access job opportunities even in foreign countries by searching on the internet. Therefore, I think that the internet is a good and reliable source of information and provides a place for youth to find information about their field of interest and even their favorite job opportunities. then, nowadays our children are able to access all information they need to make a good decision without consulting with their parents.

In addition, nowadays our education system is improved compared to the past. To be more specific, today our students learn many things in schools. this is why I think that our children gain more knowledge these days and consequently they are able to make their own decision alone with their own knowledge. In the past, some children were not able to go to schools and they were educated by their parents. Thus, they were dependent on their own parents and then they consult for any decision for their life with their parents. that is why I believe that nowadays our children are able to make their own decisions.

In summary, due to the above mentioned reasons, I believe that our children can make decisions for their lives compared to the past because their lives have changed during this time and it leads them to better access to the information and increases their knowledge.