Following are three choices to protect the local environment. Which one do you think isthe best and explain why.1. Plant trees and create gardens2. Local shops do not provide consumers with plastic bags3. Take public transportation and reduce the use of p

Nowadays, environment destruction as well as pollution is one of the severest problem globally. With better awareness of protecting local environment, citizens come up with several approaches, such as planting trees and creating gardens, banning plastic bags in local shops, and encouraging public transportation. From my perspective, the first choice is the best due to following reasons.

First and foremost, stricter policy on private car would inevitably lower the traffic efficiency. Take my father as an example, driving to his company only takes twenty minute while taking public transportation usually consumes an hour. For a person who is an extremely busy man and thus would not like to waste even a minute on commuting, it is mentally unacceptable to sacrifice his time, which could be employed to deal with more creative and innovative issues, in order to realize low carbon emission. If everyone is urged to take subways or buses, the entire city may suffer larger losses due to inefficiency.

Furthermore, compared to the third option, banning plastic bags seems more reasonable but still has some problems. In the places where this policy has already been carried out, local shops usually utilize paper bags to replace the plastic one, while the former one is not durable and cannot bear heavy burden, leading to an increasing number of compliments. Gradually, citizens probably turn to shops in the rural area or other neighboring city, which still serve free plastic bags, which is more likely to exert negative effects. Therefore, this way does not provide as much inconvenience as limiting private vehicles, but sometimes lead to opposite consequences.

Last but not least, creating more plant cover is a more radical method. Compared to the other two approaches, this policy does not lead to any inconvenience to our daily life. Besides, modern citizens are usually bombarded with tons of assignments, presentations, projects and examinations, which would inevitably lead to overpressure and tension. By contrast, planting trees and creating gardens offer those hectic people an opportunity to unwind them and turn their brain off, which consequently assists them to return to work with a light heart.

To sum up, the increasing awareness of protecting environment is definitely a good thing. Among the three listed options, I personally prefer the first one most. Encouraging public transportation and forbidding plastic bags both have negative effect in other aspects. However, by vegetating local area, we could benefit our surroundings without any personal scarification.