friendship

Without a shadow of doubt, competition is of great significance in the development of our friendship. It can not be denied that conflicts aroused by competing with others sometimes hurt the relationship between friends, and such a fact might mislead impressionable people to generate the opinion that competing is harmful for the maintaining of friendship. When it comes to my perspective, as far as the memorable moments created by competition, the improvement made by both sides and the reflect on themselves are concerned, I strongly hold the opinion that competition exerts a positive influence on friendship instead of affecting it negatively.

First of all, memorable moments, which is created by competing, is cherished by both sides and thus the friendship is strengthened. Take my brother and I, who are forced to regard each other as rival, as an example. Since our childhood, we have always involved in struggling to get higher grades than the other, beating against the other when playing sports, trying to be the precursor in a running race, etc. All these activities involving competition consist of our memories about each other. Whenever we talk about our childhood, these unforgettable moments are surfacing, and the topic on our experiences of competition is endless. Through communicating our competitive childhood, our friendship is enhanced.

Moreover, another prominent reason is that both of sides make improvements by participating in competition. Aiming to beat rivals, before the match, one has to be aware of his rival’s advantages and disadvantages. On the other hand, through numerous games, the characters and superiority of one’s opponent are reflected. Holding the same objective to beat the other side, rivals have a tendency to learn from each other, and even ask their opponents for help. During the process of making progress together and learning from each other, not only do they understand mutually, but also their friendship is enhanced. In this way, virtuous competition is created.

A voice arises that conflicts is unavoidable in competition, which is not conducive to the maintaining of friendship. However, this statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies. Admittedly, conflicts hurt the relationship between friends initially. Nonetheless, after conflicts, both sides are inclined to reflect on themselves whether they have done or spoken really outrage the other. Through the process of introspection, it is more likely for them to reconcile by apologizing. Eventually, they understand that it is not readily to maintain friendship so that they will probably try their best to avoid conflicts the next time. Through combined effort, friendship is hardened.

In conclusion, drawing upon the reasons I have mentioned before, I firmly believe that competition is beneficial for strengthening friendship. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand eyes’, I firmly believe my opponents will yield after being shown to my article.