Which is the most important thing for a country’s leader to assure the prosperity of the country?

1. Creating more jobs for unemployed workers;

2. Increasing agriculture and lowering the food price;

3. Increasing access to affordable housing;

The prosperity of a country is determined by many factors including the social welfare, the gross GDP, the gross consumption, average wages, etc. Thus, In order to make a country prosperous, its leader has to trigger at least one of these factors. From my perspective, creating more jobs for unemployed workers should be prioritized.

Increasing agriculture and lowering the food price sounds efficient but it does not increase the country’s prosperity fundamentally. After the industrial revolution, an increasingly number of countries have stepped into an era when most of their economy depend on the industry rather on the agriculture. In other words, agriculture only contribute little to a country’s economy, which is a good indication of a country’s prosperity. Thus, investing limited resources on the agriculture won’t trigger a nation’s economy tremendously. Plus, although lowering the food price is beneficial for consumers, it could cause severe problems. Agricultural produces want to sell their products in order to gain profits to make a living. However, with the food price lowering, profits gained from agricultural productivity slump, too. In this case, fewer producers are willingly to work on the lands anymore and then the supply of food would plumet, making the temporary benefit for consumers unsustainable.

Second, making house accessible for people won’t lead to prosperity fundamentally, too. Actually, housing in cities may not be a big problem right now. It is admitted that the price of many houses is too high to be accessible for most of people, but they do not have to buy the house to get a shelter. In other words, citizens could rely on renting apartments or houses for finding shelters. Under this circumstance, even if the price of houses is affordable for citizens, most of them are more likely to still choose to rent house rather than buy it, allocating the rest of their budgets into other aspects of their life. In conclusion, making affordable housing accessible won’t change people’s current life so that the prosperity of a country won’t be changed or triggered.

Compared with the two solutions mentioned below, creating more job opportunities is a effective method. As the Economy suggests, the lower base determines the superstructure, which means that only if people’s economic conditions are changed, the whole country’s prosperity could change. If the leader of a country’s decides to create more job opportunities for unemployed citizens, they could be offered salary that aids them to satisfy basic needs of their life, such as food, transportation and housing so that they could live a secure life. Under this circumstance, they could allocate more money into consumption, leading to more demands of various products, which in turn trigger the production. A optimum cycle is created to increase the GDP of a nation and thus maximize the prosperity.

All in all, creating more jobs opportunities for unemployed workers is the best one among three options to increase the prosperity of a country.