Has television destroyed communication among friends and family?

One of the things in this world that is a part of the human beings lives is the television. There is no household or even establishment that does not possess this technology. This television also affects our lives in many different ways including how we interact with others. However, I believe that saying that it has destroyed the communication with relatives or friends is something that I do not agree with.

First of all, there are families or group of friends that prefer to watch television together. They find time to gather together and share their same interests of viewing a show or movie that is being televised. For example is that, my family and I are fond with watching movies and we often buy DVDs to watch it together in the entertainment room. While watching we sometimes react into it and we share events that we can relate into that movie. And, after we watch we talked about how was the movie and at the end of the day we all had a great time watching together and we felt even closer to each other. That is one of the factors why I think television is destroying communication to our family or loved ones. Perhaps it can only impair your communication to others if you let it be.

In addition to that reason, television is used as an advertisement nowadays. Companies or the government mostly chooses the television in conveying or advertising the things they want people to know. Also, people knew these things by watching the television. For instance, if a big storm is coming up, weather reporters will send that message thru television and by that people would be able to prepare for this event. In this way, television is being used for the betterment of humankind. I come off to think of it as something you would not able to remove in a person’s life.

People might say that television destroys communication because one might put all their time to it and not having real conversation to their family or friends. Some might watch television for several hours. Nevertheless, it is safe to say that not all of it is bound to destroying our communication to others. It all depends on how people utilize it. As for me, it completely did not destroy my communication with the people around me.