How do movies or television influence people’s behavior? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Movies and television are one of the most popular forms of entertainment for people. Most of the population like to watch movies or television series in their free time. These influence people’s behavior in positive ways such as addition of something good as well as in negative ways such as asocial or offensive acts. There are several reasons behind how movies and television influence people’s behavior.

First, everyone has their own choice of movies or television shows which they watch in leisure time. The choices are made on the basis of a person's psychological needs, so people unconsciously try to fulfill their desires from movies or television series. These desires may be socially acceptable or may be socially rejected. For example, I am trying to achieve a high score but I lost three times and to overcome my feeling of depression I watch actual life based motivational movies to boost my will.

Second, movies and television programs present a story in an exaggerated way. The whole content is not true but people take it as a real event and try to experience it and major accidents happen. For instance, when I was in high school my friend watched a movie similar to a fictitious hero. He went to the roof of school to propose to a girl and he slipped because of water and got multiple fractures. This is a suitable example here which I had seen.

Third, some movies and series create suspense and hold attention for a long time. People start watching a television series and binge all episode in a day. After spending six to seven hours in front of the screen some people unconsciously or sometimes consciously start to imitate their favorite character of that series. In this way people’s inner personality as well as appearance is influenced by movies and television programs.

Finally, these are a few reasons and examples which show that people’s lives are affected by movies and television. There are so many live examples supporting my idea, even we can also analyse ourselves and find the effect of fictitious characters is present.