Movies and television strongly influence the way people behave. Do you agree or disagree? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Most People strongly believe that technology has greatly impacted the way we live, behave, and interact with each other. I concur with the claim made by this statement that Movies and Television have a great influence on the behavior of people. I feel this way for several reasons which I will elaborate on in the following essay.

To begin with, one can easily note the impact of the heroic characters portrayed in movies on children. After watching an intellectual movie, people tend to behave in a manner they have observed in movies. For example, when I was a child, I used to act like the lead character of the movie for many days after watching it. The same pattern holds for adults as well. Many eye-opening movies are there based on true events that help people to be aware of certain situations. It is the behavior that people learn from such movies that help them avoid fraud, or get hurt by trusting people blindly.

Moreover, shows aired on television are really manipulative for a large group of audience. Consider the trashy debate shows on some news channels. Most of the such programs invite some known figures, feed them with pre-written scripts, and try to put out a political agenda like debates on religion, or some national issue. Many of the viewers usually know nothing about the topic they are discussing. However, the arguments that they make becomes the only source of knowledge for many, and they form their perspective according to that. In a country like India, many political parties are there just trying to influence people with their fake political agenda to expand their vote banks. In addition to that, there are some shows through which we learn some good values that one should have in life. Also, television provides a real platform for large-scale marketing. The advertisements we see on television are so compelling that they force us to buy things whether we want them or not. It creates a fake to show that a materialistic, lavish lifestyle is all one needs to be considered as a being of socially high status.

Some may argue that movies and televisions just show things that are not realistic and cannot be implemented in real life. Admittedly, it is true in many cases. However, do people act like that? The answer to this question would be a definite NO. Since the information provided on these shows is the only source for most people, one cannot overlook its effect on the general populace.

To sum up, I believe that the statement perfectly specifies that mass-media platforms such as movies and television have a great impact on the way people believe. It does not matter what the reality is as it seems to manipulate even the smartest of us with its content of marketing, debates of political agendas, and in some cases, the portrayal of ideal values, beliefs, and morals required to be recognized as a sophisticated person.