Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wait until the class or meeting is o

Correcting other’s mistakes in a constructive way is a delicate skill. When someone realized a meeting leader or a teacher said an incorrect thing, must take many different aspects into account before trying to correct that mistake. Waiting until the end of the meeting or class and then talking about the correct idea would be better than saying it right away during the meeting or class or simply ignoring it.

If my colleague or my teacher says something which is not correct, I could interrupt her/him, mention the wrong thing and explain about the correct concept. If the mistake she/he has just made could cause misunderstanding, this method could have some benefit for all audiences as it prevented everyone from learning something or thinking about something wrong. On the other, I might hurt her/his confidence or distract the speaker if I speak during the conversation.

In my opinion the best thing I could do, is waiting until the class or meeting is over then speaking with the speaker privately. If his/her mistake could cause misunderstanding for students in the class or attendants in the meeting, my teacher or my colleague are able to correct that mistake in the next time. For example, in school, my history teacher said dates for two historical events in reverse and assigned a research project according to the dates. I went to his office after the class and told him. He corrected the dates in the next session and clarified the event that we were supposed to do homework about. Furthermore, it is possible that I didn’t interpret the matter correctly and she/he didn’t actually make any mistake. Thus, I didn’t pause her/his speech incorrectly by mentioning a wrong idea over the class or meeting!

Finally, maybe in some situations it is better not to say anything, especially when the mistake doesn’t have a negative impact or it’s not a big deal. But I think, I would always prefer not to turn a blind eye to these kinds of matter. One time in my geometry class, my teacher gave a break while we were solving some questions in the class. After the break she unintentionally skipped a page and started explaining problems from one page ahead. Nobody told her, because we thought they would be similar to other problems the teacher had explained before. However, I didn’t solve some of those skipped problems correctly. The final exam included one of those problems and my answer to the question was not correct.

To summarize, to say something about a mistake that a teacher or a meeting leader had made in a meeting or a class, you should consider the situation and it entails. Although what you want to say is correct and you are going to make a correction, it could cause some negative impacts if you directly debate in in the moment. So, you would better say nothing or talk about the issue after the meeting or class finishes.