It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ jobs. Agree or disagree?

Choosing an opportune job is a compulsory course for each adult and thus receives much attention globally, the process of which are usually extremely critical to your further lifetime. It is accepted by some people that children should better pick jobs similar to their parents, but personally I don’t regard that it could impose uniformity in all cases.

Admittedly, sharing similar jobs with parents does provide sort of convenience. It is quite low-cost for such children to acquire essential nutrients for their personal developments due to kinship, such as basic skill trainings, proper educational resources, abundant career experiences as well as enlarged social circles. Compared with guys who cannot acquire these advanteges and must pay strenous efforts to gain that, these children already attain sharp competitive edges in the fierce competition of the job enrollment market. However, it is an exaggeration to say that staying in parent’s area is always wise. If parents’ jobs do not match children’s own personality, this idea will become extremely excruciating.

Compared with convenience created by bloody relationship, where children’s own interest and talents lie in matters more. As an old saying goes, curiosity is always the best teacher, which implies that people choosing a career that they are interested in are more likely to become successful. Take the children's world well-known musicians for example, like Beethoven, Mozart and Paganini, their children are able to play some musical instruments but their professional achievements are never comparable to that of their parents, though they were suffused with classical tradition since an extremely young age. Rather than family atmosphere, it is one’s unique curiosity and capability that act as enduring driving forces to explore the unknown world. Choosing a job matching their own situation, the children are more likely to realize career development.

Moreover, the payment also deserves considering. Parents’ jobs do not always ensure financial independence in the next generation, which means the life quality of their children would ceritainly be impacted if they are forced to step into their parents' career. For example, my roommate Jessica, whose parents are both broadcasters, does not decide to continue on the same job, due to the fact that almost nobody still listens to radio nowadays and thus this job could only bring about extremely moderate income. Without a reasonable monetary reward, how to sustain all the expenses of foods, clothes,rent, vehicles, utilities, credit cards and so on? Therefore, from my perspective, a job without a decent pay is not worth considering, which would inevitably decrease the satisfaction of virtually every aspect in the daily life.

To sum up, children should not always choose jobs similar to their parents’. Besides the convenience due to blood relationship, children’s interest and gifts as well as monetary rewards hould also be taken into account. After all, finding jobs is a complicated and pivotal process that more factors need to be taken into consideration.