It is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a big city. Do you agree or disagree?

I disagree with the given claim that it is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a big city. I believe that big city should always be the first choice when it comes to children’s overall growth and development. Also, there are prodigious number of other factors that make me go for the big city when it comes to this question.

First, a big city will have tremendous number of good schools and colleges, with all the institutions competing with each other to be the best. In such environment, it is easy for parents to search a good educational institute for their child, because most of them will be good. For an example, in Bangalore, owing to the increased competition between schools, even the poor people can afford to send their child to a very good school at a cheap price. A better school meaning better education and hence excellent academic growth of children. And the great thing is that good education is distributed evenly across different steps of economic ladder in a big city.

Second, when it comes to entertainment for children, big city is always number 1. This is because there are so many different mediums available nowadays. For an instance, if kids want to play, they can go to any sport centre and play which ever sport they want. Malls are also popular means of entertainment for kids. They have gotten movies, shopping centres, food courts and different video and VR games. All these amuses children. When it comes to exploring nature, parents can take their children to outskirts of the city to experience the serenity of nature. This count is endless. Whereas, the number of facilities available in the country side is limited.

In addition to having endless means of entertainments, children also get to explore more when they stay in the city. Take food for an instance, with so many restaurants open in the city, serving all varieties food from different cuisines, a child will never miss any country’s food. This helps them to understand different country’s culture without actually going there, which I believe is a very positive and good thing. Moreover, there are so many children clubs in big cities that focusses on other aspects of children’s overall growth like speaking skills, sport skills, painting, singing, etc. The amazing thing is that they are not rare and rife all over the localities. Here, children get to make new friends, compete with them in a healthy way and increase their abilities. Such kind of clubs enhances holistic strengths of children.

Therefore, we looked at different aspects of big cities which make them a better place for children to grow up than in the countryside. Awesome educational institutions available for all, great medium of entertainments and overall development of their well being are only possible in abundance and at ease in big cities.