It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet.

I strongly disagree that using printed materials is better to do an investigation than using the internet.

First, the information found on the internet is huge, current and easily available. The advantage of the internet is that you have an immense amount of information at your fingertips. In the case of serious research, a researcher can get access to the best quality and most relevant kind of information that there is out there. For example, a scientist can find the latest “nature” magazine where the most current scientific journals are published. A doctor may visit the web page of the pharmaceutical company to read about the new medication for heart diseases.

On the other hand, printed materials are difficult to find, they are limited to libraries and bookstores. For example, not long, about twenty years, my chemistry graduation thesis on super absorbents materials, took me about a year to be completed. The information I found in my city was not enough, so I had to travel to various cities to find the information needed. Nowadays, if I were to use the internet, it would take me a couple of months to do the same research.

Last, the internet provides the opportunity to get support from other people. For instance, right now, a person doing research on superabsorbents can get in touch with other researchers around the world doing exactly the same investigation, by means of blogging, chatting, video chat, etc. hence, making his investigation more relevant and most likely better quality.

By way of conclusion, I am in the opinion that the internet is a better resource to do an investigation that any printed materials.