It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Learning is the crucial portion of people’s life because knowledge is the key factor of successful life. Therefore, how to study things efficiently is significant matter to consider as well. Personally, I believe that learning things through experience is a more satisfactory method to study. I feel this way for three main reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, it is important that people remember and study subjects well while learning. According to the research in psychology, when people rehearse subject, they learn relatively efficiently than perusing books. Therefore, individuals should practice in order memorize it. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was young, I had had the imperfection related to memorizing mathematical formulas until I started using these formulas to solve problems. I realized that I remembered these formulas without even intending because I was practicing it rather than reading about it. Drawing from my own experience, people learn more effectively when they rehearse anything.

Secondly, there are several things such as playing the music instrument, physical movement of exercise and speaking, all of which cannot be learned from books. Therefore, learners need to experience those things since they are not capable of obtaining the consummate knowledge by only reading it. To illustrate this, I would like to provide my episode of struggling to improve my speaking skill in English. Several months ago, I started reading handouts and advices associated with the speaking task of TOEFL. In fact, I could not improve my ability to communicate in the second language although I gained the great extent of knowledge thanks to the books. Therefore, I commenced using the language in order to chitchat with other people because I believed that savvy may help me. Fortunately, I began feeling that my potential of expressing my opinion on English was increased thanks to practicing. As a result, people cannot learn certain kinds of matters without undergoing them.

Finally, performing things individuals have learned from reading materials may be hard to do in the real-life situation because it is more accessible to remember if recalling and memorizing process is comparable. In other words, they can readily recall things if they try to perform it in a similar way by which they memorized it. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is heavily influenced by my experience. Last year, I attempted to learn lyrics of specific music by my heart, and I memorized every word perfectly although I did not sing it at least once. Afterwards, I tried to sing this song in front of numerous audiences. Unfortunately, because I attempted to recall the lyrics differently from how I remembered, I forget some words as soon as I started singing the song. In consequence, people hardly can perform things with knowledge which they acquired from books.

To sum up, I am of the opinion of practicing is cardinal part of learning. This is because individuals are capable of learning and recalling effectively, and some subjects are unavailable to study without rehearsing.