It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

Information plays a huge part in people's lives today. For some, it is tempting to choose news outlets that have the same viewpoints as them. However, I personally believe that collecting news from channels whose views are different from my own is more beneficial as it diversifies our viewpoint and helps us challenge our own thinking.

To begin with, ingesting news from sources whose opinions are in contrast with out own diversifies our own views. By learning information from several standpoints, we can have a more throughout outlook on the situation at hand, which helps us come up with better ideas and solutions. For instance, a government wants to reduce the electricity cost as it is currently too expensive for widespread use throughout the coutry. In order to do so, the farmland around a major factory has to be repurposed to expand the facility. At first, some normal household may agree with this approach as their electricity bill is going to be reduced greatly. However, upon hearing the news from another source, which states that this would greatly damage the soil and the ecosystem of the surrounding area, they gain a better view of the situation and can come up with a better solution not sacrificing the farmlands. Moreover, by having a clearer view of the circumstance, we can consider our opinion more accurately, coming to a better understanding of our own viewpoint that way.

Secondly, having several sources of news with different ideologies helps us learn to challenge our own thinking. By constantly taking in information that is in direct contrast to our views, we can enhance our critical thinking skills, deciding on the authenticity as well as the validity of this intake of knowledge. More specifically, it helps us learn to gather information more vigilantly, avoiding any amount of inaccurate data. Furthermore, by challenging our own viewpoint, we can come to a change for the better, adhering our stance to the one more suitable and appropriate. As an example, a student sets his mind to only study for a bachelor's degree in university. However, the current circumstances in the field of his interest suggests that acquiring a master's degree would greatly boost the probability of him encountering a better job offer. Consequently, he decides to change his mind and study for a master's degree as it is more appropriate for his situation.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that approaching news channels whose views are different from our own is more beneficial as it broadens our thinking and helps us constantly test our viewpoints for the better.