It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

Nowadays, students enjoy the excellent education system provided by our society, but students are still facing many difficulties. From my own perspective, I agree with the statement that the young should focus on learning facts rather than ideas or concepts. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will illuminate in the following essay.

First of all, I think learning facts could help students to develop their own independent thinking. What are concepts or ideas? They are other humans' opinions, which could be wrong and overthrown by other people. Consequently, it is independent thinking that helps students to challenge the current conventional theories and encourages them to build an original system of science. Finally, I think the key to forming an independent mind is to research facts directly. My experience is a compelling example of this argument. I was interested in reading so much that I requested myself to digest every detail I read. As a result, I came up with the idea that I should learn from others concerning how to finish a book perfectly. So I read a book describing a unique reading technique and discussed my inspirations with my classmates. However, I found these behaviors were wasting my precious time and limited attention since everyone had a particular taste belonging to himself. More importantly, their suggestions and feedbacks during the discussions were confusing because their reading motives differed from mine. As a result, I decided to learn to read by concentrating on the book in my hands and endeavored to avoid a missing part, which turned out to be meaningful. And now, I can thoroughly understand what I am reading and feel confident to say I excel at reading comprehension.

Secondly, learning facts could remove the barrier to students finishing difficult jobs. The aim of education is to direct actions, and a meaningful benefit of learning from facts is to accumulate experience since students can directly simulate the natural environment. It can teach the young some necessary skills. Especially the ability of keen observation. In contrast, the abstract concise essence of concepts sets a barrier for students, which restricts the youth from applying the sweet fruit from the human brain trees. For instance, I was always confused about the complicated knowledge systems in my textbooks. I knew they were all masterpieces written by brilliant predecessors. And they deeply disclosed the world we were living in. Nevertheless, they were too far from the actual world to follow. What a pity! In my opinion, I preferred to start with the world itself.

In conclusion, I support the statement that students should start with facts displayed by the natural world. This is because it has a positive effect on independent thinking and because it could accumulate helpful experience concerning of real world.