Is it the teachers responsibility to make a student learn the material

I think that it is the teachers responsibility to ensure that students study the materials they are given. This is because students might not understand the importance of studying those materials. The teacher needs to make them understand why they need to study the materials.

One reason I believe that teachers need to make students learn the material is that students are occupied with other side distractions. For example, students have other things like movies, video games, hangout and even iPads that are are sources of distraction to them. These activities also compete with the time they need to study. If left alone, most students would choose to engage in these fun activities rather than studying school materials.

Aside from other side distractions that compete with students time, another reason why teachers should have the responsibility of ensuring students study their materials is that most students do not know the importance of the materials. The teacher needs to ensure that the students understand the implications of choosing not to study the materials. Students aspire to be successful at different occupations but mostly at the early stage, they might not understand that excelling at various subjects is a prerequisite for their dream occupations.