Many students starting university must choose a major and parents of these students often give them advice about which major to choose Some parents tell their children to choose the major that most interests the students other parents tell students that i

Students have to choose their majors before entering college, directing future career. It’s accustomed to learning that individuals are frequently trapped in conflict with inner contradictions, thus it’s reasonable that quite a few citizens endorse students should follow parents’ advice. I, however, hold the counterargument that students should make decision by themselves instead.

First and foremost, I have noticed that it’s persuasive to lend credence to the idea that choosing the major by themselves is conducive to the academic development of students, by improving knowledge and triggering interests. Chiefly, under the pressure of the college entrance examination, students are keen to absorb more novel and innovative knowledge which is beyond the textbook. However, parents are usually so conservative that they tend to choose some traditional majors, such as math, chemistry, and physics, without fulfilling students’ desire of knowledge. Based on this point, I remembered that when I chose my major, my parents advised me to choose math because they only know very few majors. Nevertheless, with the hunger to learn more unknown field, finally I chose materials science. Furthermore, without little doubt, only students themselves know what they are interesting. As the old saying goes, interest is the best teacher. It’s fortunate for study to learn what they are interesting, benefiting their motivation and self-confidence. However, parents care more about future career than interests, wanting the children to have a stable life. Consequently, the claim that choosing the major independently is conducive to the academic development is justified.

Another vehicle to my opinion is that choosing major by students benefits the personal development, by building abilities like independence. As we know, it’s impossible for their children to follow their parents’ idea because they won’t be there all the time. Given the complex environment, such as interpersonal relationship, career promotion and the marriage, students will face in the future, it’s better to let them start to make decision by themselves like choosing a major, thus they will be independent. I am convinced that it’s what their parents genuinely expect. Accordingly, there is little doubt that choosing major independently rather than following parents’ advice will benefit the personal development.

To sum up, honestly, sometimes it’s hard to tell whether my point of view outweigh others’, given the complex condition described above. Nevertheless, after rigorous consideration, I deeply believe the conclusion that students should choose the major independently.