In modern era, parents learn from children more than children learn from parents.

Since the dawn of humanity, it has been of great importance for parents to understand how to convey the knowledge, skills, and values to their children in order to raise them properly. Nowadays, due to the advent of abundant technological novelties, a great amount of societal changes have occurred, some of which concern the relations between parents and children. As the technology thrives, a knowledge gap between parents and their children is created which has convinced a lot of people to believe that nowadays, parents are the ones who learn the most in the parent-child relationship. However, I am of the opinion that despite this technology-related knowledge gap, the amount of knowledge parents might get from their children could not conceivably compete with the amount children learn from their parents. In what follows, I will elaborate on my opinion, stating two pieces of education that parents provide for their children that can never be substituted by anything else.

The first piece of education provided by parents for their babies that I want to mention is teaching them how to speak, the ability which is provided in the first years of any individual’s life, and the importance of the parents’ role in its quality is obvious. Scientists believe that speaking ability is something that could only be learned only up to age five, and if a person doesn’t learn how to speak until five, they will probably stay mute forever. Moreover, speaking ability is one of the main abilities that any human being requires to survive her entire life, and it is not remotely comparable to learning how to send emails or shop online, which are examples of what parents are today mostly in need of younger people to teach them.

As the second example, learning the basics of society and its principles and getting to know its relations and their dynamics is one of the most significantly important piece of information any person in the modern era needs, and it goes without saying that the first people any child learns such education from is his/her parents. An important point in this regard is that human brain is in it’s the most efficient state in childhood, and as a person grows up its performance will gradually deteriorate. Therefore, given a certain person, the amount that he or she learns in their late ages such as information that the person’s children could provide for them is really trivial compared to the amount that they could have learned in their childhood.

In sum, contemplating all the aforementioned remarks, due to the fact that a child learns her the most important skill and knowledge such as speaking skill and the general knowledge about the world, I believe although nowadays there are certain fields of information that older generations might not be masters of, and therefore the younger generation may seem to be the teachers in that areas, still all of such information is not comparable to the magnitude and importance of education a person gets from their parents throughout their her liveslife.