The most important thing the government should do to improve health care is to

clean the environment.

Nowadays, as an increasing need for improving life quality, people have attach more importance to pursuing a healthier lifestyle. The voice of requiring the government to invest more funding on public health care has been growing louder. Some people assert that the government ought to establish a more advanced medical system. However, from my perspective, it is advisable for the government to attach more importance to create a salubrious environment, as a most essential method.

First of all, a salubrious environment could provide the public necessary physical health. To be more specific, in order to create a clean environment, pollution discharged should be prohibited. A waste purification system could help in this process. Pollutions are the main carriers of the harmful chemical compounds that are poisonous to human health system. From the medical research publish from WHO, World Health Organization, the diseases related to breathing system shows an extremely positive relationship with air pollution, with a percentage confidence of 92%. People live in areas with heavy air pollution has 27% higher possibility to caught throat cancer. Moreover, the world-shocking disease, Minamata disease in Japan in last century which lead to over 1000 victims dead and ten thousands people affected, is directly caused by mercury pollution from nearby factory. These data and examples show the importance role that environment plays in improving public health care.

Secondly, the clean environment could grant people mental health. Mental health has been mentioned frequently nowadays, as a means of evaluating public health status more soundly. A health-friendly environment enable people to release pressure. Without a salubrious environment, depression could easily be developed. I have an example of my friend Simon. He was in a university in an industrialized city. With heavy pollution and without seeing a bright sky, he always complained about the environment to me. Later he was digested to have depression. However, things had changed when he applied a transfer to another university which is in countryside. The degree of depression had been remarkably alleviated. Since the workload is almost the same, healthier environment is the element that lead to a better mental health.

Admittedly, we cannot deny the fact that, a mature medical system shows its own importance when dealing with public health issues. The advanced medical system in some countries has proved its ability when dealing with urgent public health threats. Deadly flu virus H1N1 threated almost half of the earth by its high death rate and scarce treatment available. In this kind of instances, a clean environment could not offer help. However, with the established medical system, special treatment was successfully developed in less than half an month, which shows the necessity of it.

To sum up, as a means to improve public health care, both physically and mentally, a salubrious environment is the most important philosophy.