Now many movies are based on books. Which option do you prefer : reading books before watching movies or viewing movies before reading them?

Although there is no official consensus on the topic statement, I side with the argument that it is better to watch movies before reading books. In this essay, I will provide reasons to espouse my point of view.

To begin with, watching movies first can allow us to get information efficiently and save time. Today, we live in an ever-changing circumstance. As a result, we experience struggles when we try to catch up with a huge volume of newly-released books. Because movies based on the books give us good summary of them and convey core ideas in short time, we can get new information quickly and efficently through watching the movies. For example, a recent survey by Seoul National University found a huge difference between two groups of people in spending hours reading books. The first group consisted of those who read books after watching movies based on them, and the other group was made up of those who read the books before watching the movies. The researcher found that the former was likely to spend shorter hours reading books than the latter. The respondents in the first group stated that they could read book faster and understand core contents of them easily since they had a more complete understanding of books through the movies.

On top of that, watching movies first can be more enjoyable to people than watching them after reading books. It is undeniable that watching movies with closed friends and family is one of the popular pastime in the world. When we watch movies after reading books, we feel less fun because we already knew the plot of the movies. Moreover, we tend to tell frends and family members a spoiler. It can ruin all fun of our friends and family members. Thus, watching movies first should be given serious consideration in this context. For instance, when I and my friends watched the 'Harry Poter' movie series based on famous books that we had read, we felt bored since we knew the result of these movies. I and my friends felt unhappy and gloomy by the end of the day. However, I and my family members enjoyed watching 'the Iron man' movie series before reading the original comic books. We could consentrate on those movies with fascinating stories and nice visual effects. By enjoying the movies, we could be relaxing and distance ourselves from routine stresses.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the advantages of watching movies first far outweigh those of reading books first because of getting information quickly and being more entertaining.