Nowadays many movies or films are based on books Some people prefer to read the original book before they watch the movie other prefer to watch the movie before reading the book Which one do you prefer

Without a doubt on the list of delightful activities, watching movies and reading books win the first rows. Some of the films are derived their stories from books and novels. In this regard, people have different approaches: either first reading the original book, or first watching the film. Although some people may think it is a great idea to watch the movie before reading the book, it is my firm conviction that it is better to read the original book first. There are quite a few reasons why I think this way, which I will explore in what follows.

To begin with, books and novels contain more details about the whole story. It is crystal clear that a book including hundreds of pages, can give us more information about the story; however, a movie that lasts only about three hours is a compact version of the original book. Additionally, by reading the book before the film, we can increase our imagination, and we can put ourselves in the shoes of the characters. As a result, not only can we have a better understanding of the story, but we can also be more enthusiastic to continue to read. On top of that, by this approach watching the film will be, to a great extent, a more amusing experience. For instance, When I was eleven years old, I used to read Harry Potter books, and I remember that I always used to imagine the scenes that Harry was fighting with Voldemort; it was so fascinating for me to read all about it. By the time I finished the book, I watched the movie, and it was really enjoyable to see the scenes which I had imagined before.

Secondly, if people watch the movie first, it is of high probability that they will not take the chance to read the original book. Reading a book is a demanding and time-consuming task. Consequently, a considerable amount of people try to avoid it, if it is not necessary. In addition, watching the film prior to reading the book, provides audiences the opportunity to both have the whole story in their mind, and more importantly, know the end of it. Therefore, they will be, to a great extent, less eager to read the book. Besides, sometimes people will not like the movie because of its actresses or directors’ approach, so they will lose their interest about the book. My own experience is a convincing illustration of this. Last year, my friend suggested me to read Pride and Prejudice, but I found its movie after a while, as a result, I watched the movie, and gave up reading the rest of the book due to the fact that I knew finally what was going to happen.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that watching the movie after reading the book is a more efficient way. This is because we can have access to more specific information, and enhance our imagination. Moreover, by choosing the counter strategy, we may not be as curious as before to engage in reading the book.