At one high school, more of its students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments; for example, many students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignments. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which ONE of the following actions do you think will be most effective, and why?

-Asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm that their children have not cheated

-Increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating

-Asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat

Some people think that asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework is the best way to prevent students from cheating. Others claim that increasing the penalty for cheating is a more favorable approach. Still, others maintain that asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat is more judicious. As far as I am concerned, I believe that the second option is the most preferable way to solve such a problem. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, in order to prevent students from cheating on their homework, school must ensure that students do not have any motivation to cheat, and increasing the penalty for cheating can undoubtedly dissuade students to cheat. For instance, my university forced every student who cheated on their assignments to leave the school. Since students were exceptionally concerned about getting an undergraduate degree, no one in my university dare to risk their future and commit plagiarism just to get a high score. Accordingly, my college's harsh penalty completely eradicated students' intention to cheat on their assignments. Contrarily, my brother's university asked parents to constantly monitor their children as they do some schoolwork. Unfortunately, some parents care more about their kids' future rather than their kids' honest personalities, so they were prone to forgive their children whenever they cheated. As a result, the number of students who committed cheating did not decrease in the end. So apparently, if the first policy is implemented, students would still have enough incentive to deceive themselves on their assignments.

In addition, in order to stop students from cheating, the university must not waste too many resources, and increasing the penalty for cheating can prevent schools from spending too many resources. Take my college again as an example. My university only spent three days asking the student council to write down the detailed regulation that increases the punishment for cheating. Furthermore, my school only allocated 1000 dollars to hire some experts to assist the student council in drawing up the regulation. Conspicuously, increasing the punishment for cheating requires few to no resources. Contrarily, my university once suggested college professors to design homework that is resistant to plagiarism. Nevertheless, the professors spent more than a million dollars purchasing an anti-cheating system from a machine learning corporation. Also, the professors spent hours and hours per day adjusting questions to make sure that students cannot cheat on their schoolwork. Eventually, hours of time and millions of dollars were wasted merely creating homework that was purposely designed to prevent students from deception. So apparently, devising anti-cheating assignments requires too much time, effort, and budget.

In conclusion, I maintain that increasing the penalty for cheating is the most advisable approach, considering the aforementioned reasons.