One of your friends wants to break a bad habit and live a positive lifestyle such as quitting smoking or keeping a healthy diet, but your friend gives up halfway. Which do you think is the most useful and effective advice to give to your friend?

A. To learn self-discipline and gain the willpower to live a regular life

B. To find people who share the same goal to form a healthy habit together

C. To seek advice from professional experts(nutritionists or dieticians)

Nowadays, people are suffering from diseases brought by a less healthy lifestyle and determined to make some changes. For some people, in order to break an old habit, self-discipline and strong willpower should be prioritized. Some converse with them and say that people should ask professionals for the most authentic advice. Contrary to arguments above is my view that a bunch of people with the same goal are most beneficial when people are trying to build up positive habits, due to its advantage in motivation and supervision.

First off, as a member of a group, people are bound to be both motivated and monitored by others. Initially, it's the progress made by other people pushes people to work harder and build up their courage and confidence simultaneously. For example, if one of group members succeeds in quitting smoking, other people will consider this case as a great motivation and strive for their goals. Meanwhile, it is the peer pressure in a group that helps people to develop positive habits and abandon bad ones. Specifically, it is not surprising to see group members share their advancement or problems with each other, so it naturally forms a kind of competitive tension. For instance, some students establish a group to overcome the issue of staying up late, and they promise to share their time of sleeping everyday. In this way, those fail to go to bed earlier will feel ashamed and make up their minds to perform better next time, and finally achieve the objective.

By contrast, hardly can people control themselves as well as those with joint efforts from others. To advance, it is undeniable that not every person is strong enough to undergo the whole process of giving up on old habits on their own. Once they bow down to some temptations for one time, they may feel frustrated and stop trying anymore. Take the example of losing pounds. A girl deciding to lose weight could be so starving that consume too much food at night, and it is not easy for her to start over without the encouragement from others.

Similarly, even though people gain the most professional recommendations, it doesn't mean that they will make full use of them. When there are not motivation and supervision from others, people find it extremely hard to strictly follow all suggestions. The truth is, they follow the advice in the first week, and then they totally forget about it and go back to their old tracks.

In conclusion, only finding other people with the same pursuit will assist people with breaking their old habits and forming brand new ones. The endeavor to be self-disciplined doesn't work out for everyone and people find it hard to stick to every single suggestion they gained from experts.