Online shopping has been beneficial in many societies

Bilguudei’s toefl essay (Online shopping has been beneficial in many societies)

Undoubtedly, online shopping has affected modern people’s life to a great extent. Some say it is beneficial for many people, however, I believe the impacts of online shopping made society and personal life worse due to its excessive simplicity and unreliability, which I’m going to cover in this following essay.

First of all, after the scientific revolution, humanity’s tendency to simplify things has increased so much that it yielded too many bad effects on people’s daily life. For instance, when we needed to eat something, we used to go outside and gather food instead of booking food from online services, which is making us lazier than ever. Thus, due to the lack of proper movement, we are getting fat, which is leading to obesity - one of the fatal diseases that people are suffering from. All the things that we needed and wanted to buy were only acquired from the shops and places outside but, nowadays, just by browsing our phone, we are ordering whatever we want from the internet and it will be delivered right outside of our home. Consequently, this too much simplicity has made us more inactive and we will tend to simplify other things more.

Secondly, because of the idea of online shopping, the scam and hack websites has been increasing and scamming people a lot. When we buy something from shops we see the seller face to face and there is hardly any chance to get scammed by them. However, we can’t be aware of the seller when we are buying from the internet, which is making things more complicated and increasing the odds of getting scammed. Furthermore, when it comes to clothes, which is the most common thing that people book, we have no idea of the quality and size of the products. Even online shopping has a returning feature, it is not convenient because it takes a long time to pay-back. Also, what if the product is not the same as it has been displayed on its picture. Hence, there are many trust issues when buying products that we can’t physically see.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that online shopping’s disadvantages outweigh the benefits of online shopping. Because becoming lazy and buying useless things are not the way we should live.